The WBC happened this past weekend in Copenhagen, Denmark. The USA was well represented by non other then Intelligentsia’s own Kyle Glanville. He was accompanied by coach, roaster and freind Deaton Pigot of Australia fame . The fab two endured many hardships on their way to Dane-Land from finding the proper wares to frying their grinder two days before leaving, even a hearty dose of vandalizing by the TSA . It’s been an interesting journey to say the least. I’m so proud to know Kyle and Deaton as friends and to work along side them is dream come true. I don’t know many people who work in their dream profession let alone work with some of the best people in their profession and I’m blessed to have both. Kyle placed 8th in the world. And that’s not bad.

Another one of my “best mates” is Steven Morrissey. Irish Cupping Champion, Latte Art Champion and now World Barista Champion. I always knew Steven was one of the best baristas in the world, but now he’s got the title to prove it!

WBC Champion is heavy title and one that comes with great responsibility. When James won last year, I felt there could be no better representative for coffee and the barista craft, and I feel exactly the same way this year.

Congrats Thud!

